Which Conservative MPs Can Be Trusted?

My MP – Owen Paterson did not vote. But he’s front bench. It would have ended his ministerial career if he’d voted for a referendum.

The 81 who voted for the In/Out EU Referendum are listed here….

Stuart Andrew (Pudsey)
Steve Baker (Wycombe)
John Baron (Basildon and Billericay)
Andrew Bingham (High Peak)
Brian Binley (Northampton South)
Bob Blackman (Harrow East)
Peter Bone (Wellingborough)*
Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West)
Andrew Bridgen (Leicestershire NW)
Steve Brine (Winchester)
Fiona Bruce (Congleton)
Dan Byles (Warwickshire North)
Douglas Carswell (Clacton)
Bill Cash (Stone)
Chris Chope (Christchurch)
James Clappison (Hertsmere)
Tracey Crouch (Chatham and Aylesford)
David T C Davies (Monmouth)
Philip Davies (Shipley)
David Davis (Haltemprice & Howden)
Nick de Bois (Enfield North)
Caroline Dinenage (Gosport)
Nadine Dorries (Bedfordshire Mid)
Richard Drax (Dorset South)
Mark Field (Cities of London and Westminster)
Lorraine Fullbrook (South Ribble)
Zac Goldsmith (Richmond Park)
James Gray (Wiltshire North)
Chris Heaton-Harris (Daventry)
Gordon Henderson (Sittingbourne & Sheppey)
George Hollingbery (Meon Valley)
Philip Hollobone (Kettering)*
Adam Holloway (Gravesham)
Stewart Jackson (Peterborough)
Bernard Jenkin (Harwich and Essex N)
Marcus Jones (Nuneaton)
Chris Kelly (Dudley South)
Andrea Leadsom (Northamptonshire S)
Jeremy Lefroy (Stafford)
Edward Leigh (Gainsborough)
Julian Lewis (New Forest East)
Karen Lumley (Redditch)
Jason McCartney (Colne Valley)
Karl McCartney (Lincoln)
Stephen McPartland (Stevenage)
Anne Main (St Albans)
Patrick Mercer (Newark)
Nigel Mills (Amber Valley)
Anne-Marie Morris (Newton Abbot)
James Morris (Halesowen and Rowley Regis)
Stephen Mosley (Chester)
Sheryll Murray (Cornwall SE)
Caroline Nokes (Romsey and Southampton N)
David Nuttall (Bury N)
Matthew Offord (Hendon)
Neil Parish (Tiverton and Honiton)
Priti Patel (Witham)
Andrew Percy (Brigg and Goole)
Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin)
Mark Reckless (Rochester and Strood)
John Redwood (Wokingham)
Jacob Rees-Mogg (Somerset NE)
Simon Reevell (Dewsbury)
Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury)
Andrew Rosindell (Romford)
Richard Shepherd (Aldridge-Brownhills)
Henry Smith (Crawley)
John Stevenson (Carlisle)
Bob Stewart (Beckenham)
Gary Streeter (Devon SW)
Julian Sturdy (York Outer)
Sir Peter Tapsell (Louth and Horncastle)
Justin Tomlinson (Swindon N)
Andrew Turner (Isle of Wight)
Martin Vickers (Cleethorpes)
Charles Walker (Broxbourne)
Robin Walker (Worcester)
Heather Wheeler (Derbyshire S)
Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley)
John Whittingdale (Maldon)
Dr Sarah Wollaston (Totnes)
In addition two Tory MPs abstained by voting in both lobbies; Iain Stewart and Mike Weatherley. Other abstaining MPs (15 or so) have yet to be identified.

The rest of them are liars (bar the abstainers), and deserve to be thrown out by their constituents for clear breach of a cast iron election promise. The vote was no threat to the coalition whichever way it would have gone.
That excuse is inappropriate.
There is no excuse.
The only abstainer I know of is Dan Kawcynski of Shrewsbury & Atcham.

Failing that, UKIP are claiming 7% up from 3% at the election. Just 3% more and they are solidly number 3, with Lib Dems in the dustbin.

Gillian in comments –

Many thanks Tap for posting a list of the Tory MP’s who voted against the Government on Monday.

I was hoping to find a list somewhere or other. If you know where I might find a list of Labour MP’s
and others who also voted against the Government, can you let me/us know please.

The only name on the Tory list that I was surprised by was that of the name of Zac Goldsmith!

My constituency MP’s name was not on the list. But I never have and never would vote for him anyway.


TAP – My MP is Owen Paterson, Sec Of State For NI. As a member of the front bench, he didn’t vote for the referendum, but I would still call him trustworthy. He’s been in the province for 18 months as a minister, and for four years before that as shadow. He has particular reasons for not rocking the boat. I know he is trustworthy after seeing him campaign for the British fishing industry when he was MAFF shadow under IDS, and with other issues where he has been exactly on the right side, over and over. If he votes against Cameron, he would be thrown out of his post, and as he is campaigning for a new lower tax regime for Northern Ireland, he has unfinished business. He knows from past experience that he regretted leaving departments with work unfinished. I personally wonder why Cameron has left him in Northern Ireland for so long, the longest running minister/shadow in history.

The test of trustworthiness, as evidenced by the vote, applies particularly to backbenchers. The above MPs passed the test two nights ago.

The Tap Blog is a collective of like-minded researchers and writers who’ve joined forces to distribute information and voice opinions avoided by the world’s media.

4 Responses to “Which Conservative MPs Can Be Trusted?”

  1. Twig says:

    The gist of the argument against the motion seems to be:

    a) It is not a priority of the English people.
    b) The EU countries will close their markets to British goods.
    c) It could lead to another European war.
    d) The timing is wrong.

    The motion was about whether or not the people should have a say on the matter, not the pros and cons of EU membership and there was no prescription on the timing. If the MPs really believed their own excuses, why are they afraid to hold a referendum? Surely the majority of British people would not even bother to vote according to their theory, and those that do would see the great advantages laid out by the formidable pro EU lobby i.e. Lib~Dems, Labour, the Tories and the BBC.

  2. Tapestry says:

    All you can say in mitigation, Twig, is that the vote could have been worse.

    It shows that Conservative MPs are starting to fear being hung out to dry by voters more than being hung out to dry by Hague and Cameron. It’s progress of a fashion.

  3. Tapestry says:

    from Gillian

    I just wanted to thank Twig in comments for the link to
    the Telegraph list of those who voted against the Government
    on Monday.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.